South Africa's business-tech review desk

Ranked

7 Best Solar Companies in South Africa (2026)

Seven SA solar companies ranked on the price they publish, who does the CoC and council paperwork, and what the deal costs by the time it ends.

Your electricity bill went up again this year, and somebody has quoted you for solar.

Load shedding stopped in May 2025, so this is no longer about keeping the lights on at supper time. It is about the bill. Eskom's 2026/27 tariff increase, set under NERSA's MYPD6 decision, is 8.76% for Eskom's direct customers from 1 April 2026 and 9.01% for municipal customers from 1 July 2026.

Most lists rank solar companies on star ratings. I ranked them on two things you can check before you sign: what the company will tell you in advance, and what the deal costs by the time it ends. I also read each company's own site for where it actually installs, because a good deal from a company that does not work in your province is no deal at all.

Seven tell you enough upfront to compare fairly, and this is the current list for this month. Three more that appear on other lists sell only to businesses, and four sell to homes but give too little away to rank. All of them are below.

Buying, renting and a power purchase agreement drawn on one timeline, with what each has cost by the end of it.1200 × 675 · Diagram
The three ways of paying for solar do not cost the same by the time they end, which is what this ranking compares rather than the price of the panels.
  • 17 companies checked, 7 ranked
  • Every price read on the company's own site
  • 3 excluded: they sell to businesses, not homes
  • Checked 11 September 2026

How I ranked them

Four questions, in the order a contract will test them. No scores out of five: I have not had these systems installed, and a number would only dress that up.

The four questions that decide it
💳

How do you pay, and who owns it?

Buying, renting to own, subscribing and paying per unit are four different deals. They decide who owns the panels on your roof in year eight, and only two of them end with you owning anything.

🏷️

Is the price published?

A company that shows a rand figure has committed to it. One that only books a consultation has not, and I cannot compare what I cannot see. Two of the seven publish a complete installed price, which is rarer here than it should be.

📋

Who does the council paperwork?

Your installation needs a Certificate of Compliance and, if it is wired in, municipal approval. One company puts both in its fee in writing. Most say nothing, which means it is yours to chase.

🚪

What does leaving cost?

A contract you cannot exit, or one that complicates selling the house, is a cost that never appears in the monthly figure. Ask before you sign, not after.

Nothing below is ranked on the monthly figure. It is ranked on what the company tells you, and what the deal costs by the time it ends.

Two words will come up in every quote. The Certificate of Compliance (CoC)The certificate a registered electrician signs to confirm that a fixed electrical installation meets the wiring regulations. For an installed solar or battery system it is one of the documents a municipality asks for after installation, alongside a signed as-built diagram. It attaches to the house's wiring, not to the equipment, which is why a portable unit that plugs into a socket needs none.Who says they handle itGoSolr says its once-off fee, one month's subscription, covers the CoC and the municipal registration. Mzansi Solar lists installation and the CoC as a line item in its Gold kit. The other five do not say either way on their price pages, so count the CoC as an extra until a written quote includes it. is the electrician's sign-off on the wiring. If an installer tells you a backup-only system needs no council approval because it has no panels, ask again: wired into your board it is SSEG (small-scale embedded generation)A generating or storage system connected to wiring that the municipal grid also supplies, which the municipality has to approve. It is decided by the wiring, not the technology: an inverter and battery with no solar panels is an SSEG once it is wired into the distribution board, and a unit that only charges from a wall socket is not, because it counts as an appliance. Each municipality sets its own rules and fees, so the requirements are local rather than national. Checked against a municipal SSEG FAQ on 10 September 2026.On this pageGreenHouse Solar sells a backup-only package, no panels, from R54 200. Wired into the board it still needs registering with your municipality. A portable power station plugged into a kitchen socket does not. all the same.

The seven, side by side

Find the way you want to pay, then read across.

The seven on the four things that decide the deal.

Best solar companies South Africa, ranked

Checked 11 September 2026
How you pay Published price CoC and registration If you leave or sell
1Mzansi Solar Buy outright
  • R158 224 (Gold kit)
  • from R66 106
Installation and CoC listed in the kit You own it
2GreenHouse Solar Buy, or rent-to-own over 7 years R149 900 outright or R2 875 a month, incl. VAT Ask for it in writing 10% buy-out fee on rent-to-own
3GoSolr Subscription, month to month From R1 470 a month incl. VAT, plus one month upfront Covered by the once-off fee, says GoSolr Opt out for a fixed fee and it is removed
4Alumo Energy Rent-to-own or subscription From R1 418 a month Ask for it in writing
  • Buy out any time
  • the agreement transfers to a buyer
5Wetility Subscription
  • From R1 399 a month with panels
  • R1 099 without
Ask for it in writing Ask before you sign
6WiSolar Pay per unit, 15-year agreement R2 per kWh, prepaid Ask for it in writing Buy out at an amortised cost
7Eezisol Deposit and up to 12 instalments R31 800 over 12 months (Starter Plan) Ask for it in writing Instalments end after 12 months

Read on each company's own site. Only GoSolr and GreenHouse Solar say their prices include VAT, so the others may not compare like for like.← scroll sideways on a narrow screen →

Two companies publish a complete installed price. One publishes who does the paperwork. Nobody publishes all three.

Which is why the cheapest monthly figure and the cheapest deal are rarely the same company.

The column that surprises people is the last one. A subscription is the easiest to start and the only one with no end, and the two pure subscriptions here are the two whose sites say least about what leaving costs.

What the monthly figure hides

GreenHouse Solar is the only company here that gives you both prices for the same system, which makes it the cleanest test there is. Its Victron package is R149 900 outright, or R2 875 a month for seven years.

If the 6.5% escalation applies every year from the second, those seven years of payments come to about R294 000, before the 20% initiation fee and the 10% buy-out fee. That is close to twice the cash price, for the same panels on the same roof.

R294 000
seven years of rent-to-own payments on a system GreenHouse Solar sells outright for R149 900, at its published 6.5% yearly escalation, before initiation and buy-out feesgreenhouse.co.za/packages, read 11 September 2026; our arithmetic

That is not a trick. You are borrowing R149 900 over seven years and the escalation is the interest. But it is the number to hold when a monthly figure sounds small, and if you can pay cash or borrow cheaply, buying is the cheaper deal by a distance.

1. Mzansi Solar - the whole install, priced

Mzansi Solar sells complete systems with a price on every kit, and its Gold kit lists installation and the Certificate of Compliance as line items. That is as close to a fixed price as installed solar gets in this country.

1Best if you are buying

Mzansi Solar Gold All in One Kit

Where they installin South Africa

Confirm your area

Confirmed on a call

Office in Midrand, Gauteng.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

A published price for the complete system, with installation and the CoC on the list.

  • InverterSunsynk 8 kW hybrid
  • Battery2 x Sunsynk 5.12 kWh lithium
  • Panels12 x 550 W Canadian Solar, Tier 1
  • Best forbuyers with cash or a home-loan top-up who want a known price
  • Check in your quotewhether the price includes VAT, and the warranties
R158 224once-off
All 7 Mzansi Solar kits Seven kits in two families: with panels, or battery backup without fromR50 850once-off
KitInverterBatteryPanelsPrice
All-in-one kits
BronzeLuxpower 5 kW5.12 kWh6 × 550 WR66 106once-off
GoldSunsynk 8 kW2 × 5.12 kWh12 × 550 WR158 224once-off
PlatinumSunsynk 12 kW 3-phase3 × 5.12 kWhNot statedR227 044once-off
Load-shedding kits
BronzeLuxpower 5 kW5.12 kWhNoneR50 850once-off
SilverSunsynk 5 kW5.32 kWhNoneR72 907once-off
GoldSunsynk 8 kW2 × 5.12 kWhNoneR127 712once-off
PlatinumSunsynk 12 kW 3-phase3 × 5.12 kWhNoneR185 480once-off

Once-off kit prices. Ask whether VAT is included before you pay. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from Mzansi Solar?

We send your details straight to Mzansi Solar's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my Mzansi Solar quote

The range starts at R66 106 for the Bronze kit, and every tier also comes as a battery-only kit without panels, from R50 850. The Gold kit is the one most families land on: 8 kW of inverter and 10.24 kWh of battery is enough to carry a normal house through an evening.

Before you pay, get two things in writing: whether the price includes VAT, and what the warranties are. Ask for your quote below and we follow it up with Mzansi Solar for you, including whether it installs at your address.

Best for: buyers who want a known installed price, the CoC included, and no monthly bill for the next seven years.

2. GreenHouse Solar - both prices on one card

GreenHouse Solar has been installing for more than 16 years and does something I did not find anywhere else: it gives you the outright price and the rent-to-own price for the same system, side by side, VAT included.

2Both prices shown

GreenHouse Solar Victron Energy package

Where they installin South Africa

2of 9 provinces

Gauteng, and Western Cape

Offices in Centurion and Cape Town.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The only company here that shows what renting costs against buying, for one system.

  • InverterVictron 5 kVA MultiPlus-II
  • Battery10 kWh BYD Battery-Box
  • Panels9 x 635 W (5.7 kWp)
  • Rent-to-ownR2 875 a month over 7 years
  • Best forseeing the real cost of renting before you decide
  • Check in your quotewho files the council registration
R149 900outright, VAT included
All 4 GreenHouse Solar packages Four packages, from battery backup to a Tesla Powerwall, two of them also rent to own

Battery backup

From R54 200

No panels

Solar and battery backup

From R79 990

A system you can grow over time

Victron Energy

R149 900outright

or R2 875 a month, rent to own

What you get

  • 5 kVA inverter
  • 10 kWh battery
  • 5.7 kWp of panels

Terms

  • 7-year rent-to-own
  • 20% initiation fee

Tesla Powerwall 3

R270 000outright

or R4 900 a month, rent to own

What you get

  • 11 kW
  • 13.5 kWh battery
  • 12 panels

Terms

  • 7-year rent-to-own
  • 25% initiation fee

Prices include VAT. Rent-to-own escalates 6.5% a year, with a 10% buy-out fee. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from GreenHouse Solar?

We send your details straight to GreenHouse Solar's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my GreenHouse quote

Its Tesla Powerwall 3 package is R270 000 outright or R4 900 a month, and there is a backup-only option, no panels, from R54 200. The rent-to-own terms are clear from the start: a 20% initiation fee, 6.5% yearly escalation and a 10% buy-out fee.

It carries a lifetime workmanship guarantee and 132 Google reviews averaging five stars, the strongest public record of any company here. Its offices are in Centurion and Cape Town, so Gauteng and the Western Cape are its home ground.

Best for: anyone weighing renting against buying who wants both numbers from one supplier, and buyers who want a name-brand battery on the wall.

3. GoSolr - the most in writing, and you never own it

GoSolr puts every answer on my list in writing, which nobody else here does. The entry plan is R1 470 a month, VAT included, and you pay one month upfront as an admin fee that covers the installation, the Certificate of Compliance and the municipal registration.

3Most in writing

GoSolr S

Where they installin South Africa

3of 9 provinces

Gauteng, Western Cape, and KwaZulu-Natal

Offices in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The paperwork is in the fee, the exit is published, and the price says it includes VAT.

  • ContractMonth to month
  • Once-off feeOne month, covers install, CoC and registration
  • Larger plansM R2 558, L R3 349 a month
  • Best forno upfront cost, no paperwork, and a house you might sell
  • The trade-offyou never own the system, and the paying does not end
R1 470a month, VAT included
All 8 GoSolr plans Eight sizes, matched to your monthly electricity bill fromR1 470a month
  1. SBills under R2 500 a monthR1 470a month
  2. MBills of R2 500 to R6 000R2 558a month
  3. LBills over R6 000R3 349a month
  4. L, 3-phase3-phase homes with bills over R6 000R3 499a month
  5. XLBills over R8 000R4 336a month
  6. XL, 3-phase3-phase homesR4 486a month
  7. 2XL, 3-phase3-phase properties with bills over R12 000R6 972a month
  8. 3XL, 3-phase3-phase properties with bills over R20 000R10 481a month

Prices include VAT. Every plan adds a once-off admin fee equal to one month. An extra battery is R490 and an EV charger R274. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from GoSolr?

We send your details straight to GoSolr's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my GoSolr quote

If you want out, you can opt out at any time for a fixed fee and GoSolr removes the installation. If you sell, the buyer takes over the contract or buys the installation at the price in your contract, or you cancel before the sale. That is the exit most subscriptions leave vague.

What you give up is the asset. A month-to-month plan has no end date, so the paying carries on for as long as you want the power, and the panels stay GoSolr's.

Best for: households who want solar this month with no capital, and who would rather hand over the council paperwork than chase it.

4. Alumo Energy - the cheapest way to own it eventually

Alumo Energy is the lowest monthly way into a system you can end up owning: rent-to-own from R1 418 a month, on terms of up to seven years, with the option to buy out at any time.

4Lowest way to own

Alumo Energy rent-to-own

Where they installin South Africa

Nationwide

All 9 provinces

Offices in Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark and Middelburg.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The lowest monthly entry to a system you can buy out, with insurance and maintenance included.

  • SystemSolis 5 kW inverter, 5.3 kWh battery, 3 panels
  • IncludedInsurance and free annual maintenance
  • Initiation feeR700, waived within 7 days
  • Best forowning a system without the cash, and knowing what happens if you sell
  • Check in your quotethe price of a larger system: three panels is a small array
R1 418a month
All 2 Alumo Energy plans Two ways to pay monthly: rent to own, or a subscription fromR1 299a month

Rent to own

From R1 418a month

What you get

  • Solis 5 kW
  • 5.3 kWh battery
  • 3 panels

Terms

  • R700 initiation fee
  • 3, 5 or 7 years, with the option to own

Subscription

From R1 299a month

What you get

  • Solis 5 kW
  • 5.32 kWh battery
  • 4 panels

Terms

  • R1 299 initiation fee
  • Cancel after 24 months

Every plan includes free annual maintenance and an upgrade at any time.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from Alumo Energy?

We send your details straight to Alumo Energy's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my Alumo quote

It also answers the question most rent-to-own companies skip: if you sell, the agreement transfers to the new owner, and you keep paying until Alumo has the buyer's signed agreement, even after the house has transferred. If you would rather not own it at all, Alumo also runs a straight subscription from R1 299 a month.

Best for: a household that wants the asset eventually, on the smallest monthly figure here, and reads the transfer clause before signing.

5. Wetility - the most detail on a subscription

Wetility gives you the fullest subscription price list I found: seven PACE plans from R1 099 to R4 529 a month, each with its battery size and the size of bill it is meant for. It also covers the most ground of any company here.

5Most hardware detail

Wetility PACE CORE

Where they installin South Africa

Nationwide

All 9 provinces

Some areas of the Northern Cape and Eastern Cape are not covered.

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

Named kit, a named standard and published warranties on a subscription.

  • System6 panels (2.73 kWp), 5 kW inverter, 5.1 kWh battery
  • WarrantiesPanels 25 years, battery 10 years
  • StandardNRS-097 certified inverters
  • Best fora subscription where you know exactly what hardware you are paying for
  • Check in your quotethe contract length, what leaving costs, and what happens if you sell
R1 399a month
All 7 Wetility plans Seven monthly subscription sizes, from battery backup up fromR1 099a month
  1. PACE BACKUPBills under R2 0005 kW inverter, 5.1 kWh battery, no panelsR1 099a month
  2. PACE CORER1 399a month
  3. PACE MINIR1 749a month
  4. PACE XTRABills of R3 000 to R5 0005 kW inverter, 10.2 kWh batteryR2 399a month
  5. PACE MAXIBills of R5 000 to R7 0006 kW inverter, 15.3 kWh batteryR3 699a month
  6. PACE MAXI 3PHBills over R7 00015 kW 3-phase inverter, 15.3 kWh batteryR4 299a month
  7. PACE MEGABills over R7 00012 kW inverter, 20.4 kWh batteryR4 529a month

Subscription prices per month. Wetility runs a credit check before installation. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from Wetility?

We send your details straight to Wetility's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my Wetility quote

PACE BACKUP drops the panels for R1 099, which is the cheapest way onto a subscription here. Wetility runs a credit check before installation, and an average home setup takes one to two weeks from enquiry to handover.

The other half of the deal is not set out upfront: how long the contract runs, what leaving costs, and what happens when you sell. Those answers decide a subscription, so we ask for them in writing when we follow up your quote.

Best for: readers who want the hardware and the warranties spelled out, and who will phone and ask about the exit terms before signing.

6. WiSolar - pay for the power, not the panels

WiSolar works differently from everyone else here. You do not rent the system or buy it. You pay for the electricity it makes, at R2 per kWh, prepaid through an app, under an agreement that runs for 15 years.

6No system to pay for

WiSolar power purchase agreement

Where they installin South Africa

Confirm your area

Confirmed on a call

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

Solar with no capital outlay, priced per unit instead of per month.

  • RateR2 per kWh, prepaid
  • Term15 years, buy out at an amortised cost
  • Trading since2016, in South Africa and Nigeria
  • Best forno outlay at all, if you are happy to fix a per-unit price for years
  • Compare withyour municipal tariff per kWh, on your electricity bill
R2per kWh, prepaid
All 5 WiSolar plans Five sizes by home. You pay for the power the system produces, with nothing upfront from aboutR2 557a month
  1. MediumA 2-bedroom homeAbout R2 557a month
  2. PopularA 3 to 4-bedroom homeAbout R3 610a month
  3. LargeA 5-bedroom homeAbout R4 513a month
  4. DeluxeA home running more appliancesAbout R5 114a month
  5. Lite commercialA small businessAbout R6 889a month

Monthly estimates. You pay for the power the system produces, with nothing to buy upfront. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from WiSolar?

We send your details straight to WiSolar's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my WiSolar quote

Whether R2 a unit saves you money depends on what your municipality charges, and that varies more than most people expect. Put your own tariff next to it before you sign up for fifteen years. Ask for a quote below and we confirm with WiSolar whether it installs in your area.

Best for: homeowners who want solar with nothing to pay upfront and no interest in owning the equipment.

7. Eezisol - a small system, paid off in a year

Eezisol is the only company here that lets you pay a system off in months rather than years. Its Starter Plan, 1.5 kW with a 2.56 kWh battery, is an R12 000 deposit and then R1 650 a month for twelve months.

7Shortest to pay off

Eezisol Starter Plan

Where they installin South Africa

3of 9 provinces

Gauteng, Limpopo, and Mpumalanga

Checked 16 Sep 2026

✓ Checked 11 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

A small backup system with a published total you can clear inside twelve months.

  • System1.5 kW, 2.56 kWh battery
  • Shorter termsR6 000 x 3 months, or R3 150 x 6
  • Trading9 years in solar
  • Best fora small backup system cleared quickly, not a whole-house install
  • Check in your quotethe warranties, and who handles the paperwork
R31 800over 12 months
All 3 Eezisol systems Three starter systems. The deposit you choose sets the monthly payment deposit fromR8 000
SystemSizeBatteryPanelsPrice
Starter1.5 kW1.28 kWh1 × 425 WFrom R8 000deposit
Starter1.5 kW2.56 kWh1 × 425 WFrom R12 000deposit
Starter Plus1.5 kW2.56 kWh2 × 425 WFrom R15 000deposit

The monthly payment depends on the deposit you choose. · Checked 16 Sep 2026

Want a quote from Eezisol?

We send your details straight to Eezisol's team and follow up for you, so your quote does not sit in a queue.

Get my Eezisol quote

It gives you less upfront than the others: no warranty terms for the plans, nothing on who handles the paperwork, and the monthly figure only once you pick a deposit. It is also the most local company here, working in Gauteng, Limpopo and Mpumalanga. For a system this size that matters less than it would at R150 000, but it is the reason it sits seventh rather than fourth.

Best for: a flat or a small house in Gauteng, Limpopo or Mpumalanga that wants the fridge, the router and the lights covered, paid off within a year.

What you own at the end

The second axis, and the one the monthly figure hides. Two of these end with you owning a system, two end whenever you stop paying, and the rest sit in between.

Who owns the panels while you pay, and what you are left with.

Who owns the system, and when

Checked 11 September 2026
Owns it while you pay At the end Published exit
Mzansi Solar You do Yours from day one Not applicable
GreenHouse Solar You, or GreenHouse on rent-to-own Yours outright, or after the buy-out 10% buy-out fee
Alumo Energy Alumo Yours once bought out
  • Buy out any time
  • transfers to a buyer
Eezisol Not stated Instalments end after 12 months Not published
GoSolr GoSolr Nothing: the subscription has no end Fixed fee, system removed
Wetility Wetility Not published Not published
WiSolar WiSolar Yours only if you buy out Amortised cost, any time in 15 years

From each company's own pages and FAQs, 11 September 2026. 'Not published' means we could not find it, not that it does not exist.← scroll sideways on a narrow screen →

The three companies with a named term are also the three that publish a buy-out. The two pure subscriptions publish a cancellation instead.

That is not an accident: a subscription has no maturity to publish.

The ones I did not rank, and why

Four sell to homes but give too little away to judge. UniSource Solar in Bedfordview names the standards it installs to, including NRS 097-2-1, but quotes by consultation only. NH Solar in Gqeberha is PV GreenCard accredited and offers rent-to-own in the Eastern Cape, with no price to compare.

IC Solar in Cape Town lists CoC and SSEG work among its services, but gives no address or trading history to judge it on. Green Energy SA sells DIY equipment rather than installed systems.

Three companies you will see on other lists do not sell to homes at all. Forest Energy and Grid Capital install for businesses, farms and lodges, and Apollo Africa trades electricity to large companies. For a house, none of them is an option.

The bottom line

Each way of paying delivers what it promises. A subscription gives you solar with nothing upfront and, at GoSolr, the paperwork handled and a clear exit. Buying gives you the asset and the lowest cost over time, and Mzansi Solar and GreenHouse Solar both give you the price before you call. Rent-to-own sits between them and costs more than it looks.

So if you can pay cash or borrow at a home-loan rate and you are staying put, buy. If you cannot, and you might move within a few years, subscribe. If you want the asset without the cash, rent to own and read the transfer clause.

Whichever way you lean, ask one installer for both prices on the same system, and ask whether it installs in your area before you give it an afternoon. GreenHouse Solar already prints both prices, and the gap between those two numbers is the most useful thing you will learn this week.

Our pick

A household buying outright that wants the installed price, with the CoC in the kit, before anyone visits.

Mzansi Solar Gold All in One Kit

R158 224once-off

R158 224 once-off, with the range starting at R66 106 (checked 11 September 2026)

See Mzansi Solar's kits Price checked 11 Sep 2026

If you are still torn between two of these, do not guess. The four questions below turn this list into one answer for your house: how you want to pay, whether you might sell within five years, whether you want the paperwork handled for you, and what your bill is. You get back the company that fits, with the reason and what you give up.

Four questions

Which solar company fits your house?

Answer for your own home and bill. The recommendation updates as you go.

1How do you want to pay?

2Could you sell or move within five years?

3Do you want the CoC and council registration handled for you, in writing?

4Roughly what is your electricity bill a month?

Before you answer

There is no single best solar company

The right one depends on how you want to pay. GoSolr writes down the most; buying from Mzansi Solar or GreenHouse Solar costs the least over time.

The trade-off: a subscription you can leave for a fixed fee, or a system you own and pay for once.

Every price and term is the company's own, read on 11 September 2026. Ranked on how much of the deal each company puts in writing before you sign.

Questions people actually ask

Is solar still worth it now that load shedding has stopped?

For most homes the case is now the bill, not the blackouts.

Load shedding stopped in May 2025, and NERSA approved increases of 8.76% for Eskom's direct customers from 1 April 2026 and 9.01% for municipal customers from 1 July 2026. Whether solar pays off depends on your bill, how long you stay, and whether you buy or rent.

Can I still claim the solar tax rebate?

No. The individual solar rebate, section 6C, covered 25% of the cost of new solar panels up to R15 000, only for panels brought into use from 1 March 2023 to 29 February 2024.

It never covered inverters or batteries and was not extended. Some installer websites still mention it.

Do I need to tell the municipality about a portable power station?

No. A unit that only charges from a wall socket is treated as an electrical appliance, not as small-scale embedded generation, so there is nothing to register.

Rules and fees are set by each municipality.

What happens to a solar subscription if I sell my house?

It depends on the company, which is why it belongs in the contract.

GoSolr says the buyer can take over the contract or buy the installation at the contract price, or you can cancel at a fee before the sale and it removes the system. Alumo Energy transfers the agreement, and you keep paying until it has the buyer's signature.

What is the cheapest solar subscription in South Africa?

On prices checked 11 September 2026: Wetility PACE BACKUP at R1 099 a month (battery and inverter, no panels), Alumo Energy's subscription from R1 299, Wetility PACE CORE at R1 399 with six panels, and GoSolr from R1 470 including VAT.

Only GoSolr states that its price includes VAT.

Is it cheaper to buy solar or rent it?

Over time, buying. GreenHouse Solar publishes both prices for one system: R149 900 outright or R2 875 a month over seven years.

With its 6.5% yearly escalation the payments come to about R294 000 before fees. Renting makes sense if you cannot pay upfront or expect to move.