South Africa's business-tech review desk

Ranked

9 Best Portable Power Stations in South Africa (2026)

Nine power stations you can buy in SA today, priced at every store, ranked on switchover speed, battery life and what a watt-hour really costs.

If you are buying a power station now, it is probably not for load shedding, which Eskom suspended in May 2025. It is more likely for a municipal fault with no end time, for Eskom's load reduction (usually 05:00 to 09:00 and 17:00 to 22:00), for solar that runs short on cloudy days, or simply for power you can carry.

Most reviews rank power stations on watt-hours. I ranked them on the power cuts you actually get: how fast each one switches over, how long the battery lasts over years, how it recharges when the power stays off, and what a watt-hour costs at the cheapest store today.

That last part surprised me. I checked every model's price at the brands' own stores, Takealot and Sustainable.co.za, and the cheapest was often not the brand's own store. So each power station below shows every store I found it at, with the price, delivery and warranty.

This is the ranking for September 2026. I have not lived through a year of power cuts on each one, so it rests on what the makers and stores say.

A power station plugged into a kitchen wall socket, running a Wi-Fi router and a lamp, with a clock showing just after 17:00.1200 × 675 · Photograph
In the municipal guidance we read, a power station that only charges from a wall socket counts as an appliance, not an installation, so there is nothing to register.
  • 5 stores read for every model
  • Every spec from the maker's own page
  • 2 brands not ranked: nowhere to buy them properly
  • Checked 17 September 2026

How I ranked them

Four questions, in the order a power cut asks them. I have not run these units side by side, so there are no scores out of five, only what each maker says and what each store charges.

The four questions that decide it
⚡

Does anything restart when the power goes?

A unit that switches over in under 10 to 30 milliseconds keeps a router, a PC or a TV running as if nothing happened. Three makers give that number. When a page does not, plan to plug things in after the power goes.

🔁

Will the battery last years of daily use?

Load reduction is two cycles a day, over 700 a year. The EcoFlow and Gizzu units use lithium iron phosphate cells, and where the maker gives a figure it is 3 000 to 3 500 cycles. Jackery rates the Explorer 1000 Pro for 1 000 and the Explorer 500 for 500, each to 80% of new.

🔌

How does it refill?

On a daily schedule it charges from a plug point between the cuts, so recharge speed matters. When the power does not come back, only a solar panel or a car socket will, so the solar input matters more than the battery size.

🏷️

What does a watt-hour cost, and who is selling it?

Price divided by battery size, at the cheapest store with it in stock today. Then who sells it: a marketplace listing can be cheaper and carry a shorter warranty or a foreign plug.

Nothing below is ranked on watt-hours alone. It is ranked on how each unit copes with the power cuts you get, and what it costs at the best store today.

One thing no maker here tells you: how much of the battery you can actually use. The number on the box is the size of the cells. Some energy is lost turning it into mains power, and none of these stores says how much, so treat every runtime you work out from the label as the best case. Gizzu is the only one that says its battery holds between 90% and 100% while it sits plugged in on standby.

The nine, side by side

Find the size you need, then read across to the last two columns.

The nine on the things that decide a power cut, priced at the cheapest store with each in stock. Output and surge are in each box below.

Best portable power stations South Africa, ranked

Checked 17 September 2026
Battery Switchover Warranty Lowest in stock Per watt-hour
1EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus 1 024Wh Under 10 ms 5 years R16 999 at Takealot R16.60 See it
2EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max 512Wh Not stated 5 years R5 099 at Takealot R9.96 See it
3Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh 2 048Wh 10 ms 24 months R17 999 at Takealot R8.79 See it
4EcoFlow DELTA 2 1 024Wh Not stated 5 years R13 299 at Takealot R12.99 See it
5EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro 768Wh Under 30 ms 5 years R9 899 at EcoFlow R12.89 See it
6EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max 2 048Wh Under 10 ms 3 years, 5 if registered R20 799 at Takealot R10.16 See it
7Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh 3 840Wh Time not stated 24 months R28 499 at Gizzu R7.42 See it
8Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro 1 002Wh Time not stated 2 years R17 999 at three stores R17.96 See it
9Jackery Explorer 500 518Wh Not stated 2 years R6 998 at Takealot R13.51 See it

Specs from each maker's own South African store; prices read at EcoFlow, Gizzu, jackery.co.za, Takealot and Sustainable.co.za. Battery sizes are the label, not what you can use, and per watt-hour uses the label too.← scroll sideways on a narrow screen →

The cheapest watt-hour on this list costs R7.42 and the most expensive R17.96, more than twice as much for the same thing stored.

Which is why the size on the box and the price on the box are the two numbers that decide least.

Why the same unit costs R2 200 less at another store

The EcoFlow DELTA 2 was R15 499 on EcoFlow's own site when I checked. On Takealot, sold by EcoFlow's own store there, it was R13 299 for delivery between 26 September and 1 October, or R16 499 to have it the same day. Sustainable.co.za had it at R14 443.95.

R7.42 vs R17.96
what one watt-hour of battery costs on this list, at the cheapest store with each unit in stock: the Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus against the Jackery Explorer 1000 Progizzu.co.za, jackery.co.za, takealot.com and sustainable.co.za, read 17 September 2026; our arithmetic on the label capacity

First, the cheaper offer usually comes with a catch: a slower delivery, a marketplace seller instead of the brand, or a shorter warranty. Second, on a marketplace, read who is selling. A Takealot listing for the RIVER 2 Max at R5 099 is sold by Nexhive (Pty) Ltd rather than EcoFlow, and one Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus listing states a six-month warranty where Gizzu's own store states 24 months. That is why every box below shows who sells it and the warranty beside the price.

1. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus - the best for most homes

The DELTA 3 Plus is the unit I would put under most people's router and TV. It holds 1 024Wh, runs 1 800W with a 3 600W surge for a fridge's start-up, and switches over in under 10 ms, so nothing plugged into it restarts. Right now it is R16 999 at Takealot, in stock and sold by EcoFlow's own store there, while EcoFlow's site shows it sold out.

1Best for most homes

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus switches over in under 10 ms, carries a five-year warranty and costs less than a 2kWh unit.

  • Battery1 024Wh, LFP cells
  • Output1 800W, 3 600W surge
  • SwitchoverUnder 10 ms
  • Warranty5 years
  • Best fora router, TV and laptops that must not drop, plus a fridge through an evening
  • At checkout, checkwhether EcoFlow itself is selling it, and how long delivery takes
R16 999once-off, sold out at EcoFlow on 17 Sep 2026, in stock at Takealot
See EcoFlow's range

you'll go to za.ecoflow.com

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R16.60per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 1 024Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow DELTA 2R13 299at TakealotR3 700 less. The same 1 024Wh battery, and the same 1 800W output. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.
  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 MaxR5 099at TakealotR11 900 less. 512Wh of battery against 1 024Wh, and 500W output against 1 800W. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.
  • Jackery Explorer 500R6 998at TakealotR10 001 less. 518Wh of battery against 1 024Wh, and 500W output against 1 800W. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.

Too small? Step up to

  • Gizzu Hero Pro 2048WhR17 999at TakealotR1 000 more for 2 048Wh, twice this battery, and 2 400W output.
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 MaxR20 799at TakealotR3 800 more for 2 048Wh, twice this battery, and 2 400W output.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itEcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by EcoFlow · Free delivery available · 60-month warranty

    R16 999 R22 999
    Buy it at Takealot

    The lowest price in stock

  • EcoFlow South Africa

    Out of stock when checked

    The brand's own store · 5-year warranty

    R16 999 R18 999

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

The switchover time is the reason to pay more here. The DELTA 2 below is cheaper for the same battery, but EcoFlow does not give its switchover time, and for a router or a PC that is the difference between staying online and rebooting twice a day.

Best for: a home that normally wants one unit to carry the router, TV and fridge through an evening power cut without anything noticing. If you only need the router and lights, the next unit does that for a third of the price.

2. EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max - the best under R6 000

The RIVER 2 Max is the cheapest unit here I would still call a proper buy. It is 512Wh on cells rated for 3 000 cycles, it weighs about 6 kg and it recharges from a plug point in an hour. It is R5 099 at Takealot from a marketplace seller, R5 309.95 at Sustainable.co.za and R5 999 at EcoFlow, which also has a refurbished grade A unit at R5 499 with the same five-year warranty.

2Best under R6 000

EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max

EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max is 512Wh on long-life cells with a five-year warranty, for less than R6 000 at every store we read.

  • Battery512Wh, LFP cells, 3 000 cycles
  • Output500W, 1 000W surge
  • Recharge0 to 100% in an hour
  • Warranty5 years
  • Best fora router, lights and phone charging through an evening
  • At checkout, checkwho the marketplace seller is, if you take the lowest price
R5 999once-off at EcoFlow South Africa
See it at EcoFlow

you'll go to za.ecoflow.com

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see bigger picks R9.96per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 512Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too small? Step up to

  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 ProR9 899at EcoFlow South AfricaR4 800 more for 768Wh, one and a half times this battery, and 800W output. It switches over in under 30 ms.
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 ProR17 999at Sustainable.co.zaR12 900 more for 1 002Wh, twice this battery, and 1 000W output.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itEcoFlow RIVER 2 Max, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by Nexhive (Pty) Ltd · Free delivery available · 60-month warranty

    Marketplace seller, not EcoFlow

    Lowest today R5 099 R7 999
    Buy it at Takealot

    R900 less than the brand's own store

  • Sustainable.co.za

    In stock

    Shipping calculated at checkout

    R5 309.95 R6 637
  • EcoFlow South Africa

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 5-year warranty

    Refurbished, grade A

    R5 499 R7 999
    Buy the refurbished unit

    Bought direct from the brand

  • EcoFlow South Africa

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 5-year warranty

    R5 999 R7 999
    Buy it at EcoFlow

    Bought direct from the brand

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by EcoFlow · Free delivery available · 60-month warranty

    R6 099 R7 999
    Buy it at Takealot

    Free delivery

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

Know its limit before you buy. A 500W output runs a router, a few lights and a laptop comfortably, but it is not a fridge unit, and EcoFlow does not give a switchover time for it, so treat it as something you plug into when the power goes.

Best for: a flat or a small household that needs the Wi-Fi and the lights through an evening, on a budget. If you want the fridge on too, and more battery for the money than anything else here, look at the next one.

3. Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh - the most battery for the money

Gizzu is a South African brand, and the Hero Pro gives you twice the battery of the DELTA 3 Plus for about the same price. It holds 2 048Wh, runs 2 400W with a 4 800W peak and switches over in 10 ms. It is R17 999 at Takealot from a marketplace seller, which is R8.79 a watt-hour. Gizzu's own store lists it at R13 999, but it was out of stock when I checked.

3Most battery for the money

Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh

Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh stores twice the energy of most 1kWh units with a 10 ms switchover, at a lower price per watt-hour.

  • Battery2 048Wh, LiFePO4 cells
  • Output2 400W, 4 800W peak
  • Switchover10 ms
  • Warranty24 months
  • Best fora fridge, TV and router through a long evening, or a small home office
  • At checkout, checkwhether Gizzu's own store is back in stock at R13 999
R13 999once-off at Gizzu, out of stock there on 17 Sep 2026
See Gizzu's range

you'll go to www.gizzu.co.za

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R8.79per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 2 048Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusR16 999at TakealotR1 000 less. 1 024Wh of battery against 2 048Wh, and 1 800W output against 2 400W.

Too small? Step up to

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itGizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by Radicand Tech & Home · Free delivery available · 24-month warranty

    Marketplace seller, not Gizzu

    R17 999 R25 000
    Buy it at Takealot

    The lowest price in stock

  • Gizzu

    Out of stock when checked

    The brand's own store

    R13 999
  • Sustainable.co.za

    Out of stock when checked

    R14 000.95 R18 901

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

What you give up is the warranty. Gizzu gives 24 months against EcoFlow's five years, so you are buying more battery today with less cover later. If Gizzu restocks at R13 999, the gap is R4 000, and that is worth a week's wait.

Best for: anyone who wants 2kWh without paying EcoFlow's price for it, and who is comfortable with a two-year warranty. If you need 1kWh today at the lowest price and can wait for delivery, the next one is the better deal.

4. EcoFlow DELTA 2 - the cheapest 1kWh unit today

The DELTA 2 is the same battery size as the DELTA 3 Plus for R3 700 less, if you take Takealot's slower delivery. It holds 1 024Wh on cells rated for 3 000 cycles, runs 1 800W with a 2 700W surge and carries a five-year warranty. It is R13 299 at Takealot for delivery around the end of September, R14 443.95 at Sustainable.co.za and R15 499 at EcoFlow.

4Cheapest 1kWh today

EcoFlow DELTA 2

EcoFlow DELTA 2 power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The EcoFlow DELTA 2 is 1 024Wh with a five-year warranty, and the cheapest 1kWh unit on this list at R13 299.

  • Battery1 024Wh, LFP cells, 3 000 cycles
  • Output1 800W, 2 700W surge
  • SwitchoverNot given
  • Warranty5 years
  • Best fora fridge and the essentials, when you can plug things in yourself
  • At checkout, checkthe delivery date on the offer you choose
R15 499once-off at EcoFlow South Africa
See it at EcoFlow

you'll go to za.ecoflow.com

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R12.99per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 1 024Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 ProR9 899at EcoFlow South AfricaR3 400 less. 768Wh of battery against 1 024Wh, and 800W output against 1 800W. It switches over in under 30 ms, which this one does not publish.
  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 MaxR5 099at TakealotR8 200 less. 512Wh of battery against 1 024Wh, and 500W output against 1 800W.
  • Jackery Explorer 500R6 998at TakealotR6 301 less. 518Wh of battery against 1 024Wh, and 500W output against 1 800W.

Too small? Step up to

  • Gizzu Hero Pro 2048WhR17 999at TakealotR4 700 more for 2 048Wh, twice this battery, and 2 400W output. It switches over in 10 ms.
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 MaxR20 799at TakealotR7 500 more for 2 048Wh, twice this battery, and 2 400W output. It switches over in under 10 ms.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itEcoFlow DELTA 2, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by EcoFlow · Delivery 26 Sep to 1 Oct · 60-month warranty

    R16 499 for same-day delivery

    Lowest today R13 299 R17 999
    Buy it at Takealot

    R2 200 less than the brand's own store

  • Sustainable.co.za

    In stock

    Shipping calculated at checkout · 5-year warranty

    R14 443.95 R18 055
  • EcoFlow South Africa

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 5-year warranty

    R15 499 R17 999
    Buy it at EcoFlow

    Bought direct from the brand

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

What you give up for the R3 700 is a stated switchover time. EcoFlow's DELTA 2 page gives no switchover time, so if a router or PC must stay on through the cut, spend the difference on the DELTA 3 Plus.

Best for: a household that mainly wants the fridge and a few plugs covered and does not mind plugging things in. If your cut comes twice a day on a schedule, the next unit refills faster between the two.

5. EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro - the best for the daily cut

If the power goes every morning and every evening, the RIVER 2 Pro is built for that rhythm. It holds 768Wh, recharges from a plug point in 70 minutes, and EcoFlow states a switchover of under 30 ms. It is R9 899 at EcoFlow and at Takealot, with EcoFlow selling on both.

5Best for the daily cut

EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro

EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro refills in 70 minutes and switches over in under 30 ms, which suits a cut that comes twice a day.

  • Battery768Wh, LFP cells, 3 000 cycles
  • Output800W, 1 600W surge
  • SwitchoverUnder 30 ms
  • Warranty5 years
  • Best forload reduction: the router, lights and TV through each window
  • Fridge limitits start-up surge has to fit under 1 600W
R9 899once-off at EcoFlow South Africa
See it at EcoFlow

you'll go to za.ecoflow.com

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R12.89per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 768Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 MaxR5 099at TakealotR4 800 less. 512Wh of battery against 768Wh, and 500W output against 800W. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.
  • Jackery Explorer 500R6 998at TakealotR2 901 less. 518Wh of battery against 768Wh, and 500W output against 800W. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.

Too small? Step up to

  • EcoFlow DELTA 2R13 299at TakealotR3 400 more for 1 024Wh, a little more than this battery, and 1 800W output.
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 ProR17 999at Sustainable.co.zaR8 100 more for 1 002Wh, a little more than this battery, and 1 000W output.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itEcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro, compared across South African stores

  • EcoFlow South Africa

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 5-year warranty

    R9 899 R11 199
    Buy it at EcoFlow

    The lowest price in stock

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by EcoFlow · Free delivery available · 60-month warranty

    R9 899 R16 399
    Buy it at Takealot

    The lowest price in stock

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

Two cycles a day is over 700 a year, and at 3 000 rated cycles that is roughly four years before the battery drops to 80% of new. That is why cycle life matters more to a load-reduction household than a bigger battery does.

Best for: homes on Eskom's load reduction, where the power goes at the same times every day and comes back to refill it. If your power cuts have no end time, you need more battery, and the next two are the ones to compare.

6. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max - the best 2kWh with a long warranty

The DELTA 3 Max is the 2kWh unit to choose if the warranty matters more than the price. It holds 2 048Wh, runs 2 400W, switches over in under 10 ms and weighs 20.3 kg. It is R20 799 at Takealot on the slower offer, R23 999 for the fastest delivery there, and R21 999 at EcoFlow.

62kWh, longest warranty

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max is 2 048Wh with an under-10 ms switchover and up to five years of warranty.

  • Battery2 048Wh, LFP cells
  • Output2 400W, 3 200W with X-Boost
  • SwitchoverUnder 10 ms
  • Warranty3 years, plus 2 when registered in the app
  • Best fora home office or a fridge and freezer through a long power cut
  • Warrantyregister it in the EcoFlow app, or it stays at three years
R21 999once-off at EcoFlow South Africa
See it at EcoFlow

you'll go to za.ecoflow.com

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R10.16per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 2 048Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusR16 999at TakealotR3 800 less. 1 024Wh of battery against 2 048Wh, and 1 800W output against 2 400W.
  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 MaxR5 099at TakealotR15 700 less. 512Wh of battery against 2 048Wh, and 500W output against 2 400W. Its maker publishes no switchover time, so a router or PC on it may restart when the power goes.
  • Gizzu Hero Pro 2048WhR17 999at TakealotR2 800 less. The same 2 048Wh battery, and the same 2 400W output.

Too small? Step up to

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itEcoFlow DELTA 3 Max, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by EcoFlow · Slower delivery at this price · 36-month warranty

    R23 999 for the fastest delivery

    Lowest today R20 799 R23 999
    Buy it at Takealot

    R1 200 less than the brand's own store

  • EcoFlow South Africa

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 3-year warranty, 5 once registered in the app

    R21 999 R26 999
    Buy it at EcoFlow

    Bought direct from the brand

  • Sustainable.co.za

    Out of stock when checked

    R23 932.95 R29 916

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

Read the warranty carefully. EcoFlow gives three years as standard and two more only when you register the unit in its app, and Takealot's listing states 36 months. Register it the day it arrives.

Best for: a home that wants 2kWh and the longest cover it can get, and would rather pay EcoFlow's price than Gizzu's two-year warranty. If your power cuts run into a second day, the next one stores nearly twice as much.

7. Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh - the longest power cuts for the money

For power cuts with no end time, the Hero Ultra Plus gives you the most stored energy per rand on this list. It holds 3 840Wh, runs 3 600W with a 7 200W peak and is rated for 3 500 cycles. It is R28 499 at Gizzu, in stock, which works out at R7.42 a watt-hour.

7Longest power cuts for the money

Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh

Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The Gizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh stores the most energy per rand of anything here, with a 7 200W peak for heavy start-ups.

  • Battery3 840Wh, LiFePO4 cells, 3 500 cycles
  • Output3 600W, 7 200W peak
  • Recharge0 to 100% in 2.2 hours
  • Warranty24 months
  • Best fora municipal fault that runs into a second day
  • At checkout, checkthe warranty on a marketplace listing, before you take a lower price
R28 499once-off at Gizzu
See it at Gizzu

you'll go to www.gizzu.co.za

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see cheaper picks R7.42per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 3 840Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • Gizzu Hero Pro 2048WhR17 999at TakealotR10 500 less. 2 048Wh of battery against 3 840Wh, and 2 400W output against 3 600W. It switches over in 10 ms, which this one does not publish.
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 MaxR20 799at TakealotR7 700 less. 2 048Wh of battery against 3 840Wh, and 2 400W output against 3 600W. It switches over in under 10 ms, which this one does not publish.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itGizzu Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    Ships later

    Sold by The HOB ZA · Ships in 3 to 5 work days · 6-month warranty stated on the listing

    Listing states a 6-month warranty

    Lowest today R28 093 R35 678
    Buy it at Takealot

    R406 less than the brand's own store

  • Gizzu

    In stock

    The brand's own store · 24-month warranty

    R28 499
    Buy it at Gizzu

    The longest warranty here: 2 years

Prices include VAT, read at each store on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

Buy this one from Gizzu. A Takealot listing was R406 cheaper, but it ships in three to five days and states a six-month warranty, against the 24 months Gizzu's own store states.

Best for: homes whose power fails without warning for a day or more, where the battery has to carry the house until the fault is fixed. If a local repair desk matters more to you than the most storage, the next brand has one in Cape Town.

8. Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro - a local repair desk

Jackery is sold here by jackery.co.za, a distributor with a Cape Town head office and its own repair form. The Explorer 1000 Pro holds 1 002Wh, runs 1 000W with a 2 000W surge and recharges in under two hours. It is R17 999 at jackery.co.za, at Takealot and, to the cent, R17 998.95 at Sustainable.co.za.

8A local repair desk

Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro

Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro comes with a South African distributor's repair route and a two-year warranty.

  • Battery1 002Wh
  • Output1 000W, 2 000W surge
  • Weight11.5 kg
  • Warranty2 years
  • Best forsomeone who wants a named local support desk above all
  • Cycle rating1 000 full cycles to 80%, a third of the EcoFlow RIVER 2 and DELTA 2 figure
R17 999once-off at jackery.co.za
See it at jackery.co.za

you'll go to jackery.co.za

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R17.96per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 1 002Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • Jackery Explorer 500R6 998at TakealotR11 001 less. 518Wh of battery against 1 002Wh, and 500W output against 1 000W.
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusR16 999at TakealotR1 000 less. About the same battery, 1 024Wh against 1 002Wh, and 1 800W output against 1 000W. It switches over in under 10 ms, which this one does not publish.

Too small? Step up to

  • Gizzu Hero Pro 2048WhR17 999at TakealotAbout the same price for 2 048Wh, twice this battery, and 2 400W output. It switches over in 10 ms.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itJackery Explorer 1000 Pro, compared across South African stores

  • Sustainable.co.za

    In stock

    Shipping calculated at checkout

    R17 998.95 R22 499
    Buy it at Sustainable.co.za

    The lowest price in stock

  • jackery.co.za

    In stock

    Cape Town distributor with a local repair desk · Free delivery · 2-year warranty

    R17 999 R19 999
    Buy it at jackery.co.za

    Bought direct from the brand

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by JACKERY · Free delivery available · 24-month warranty

    R17 999 R22 950
    Buy it at Takealot

    Free delivery

Takealot and Sustainable.co.za prices include VAT; jackery.co.za does not say either way on its product page. Read on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

It ranks eighth on price. At R17.96 a watt-hour it is the most expensive battery on this list, and Jackery rates its lithium-ion cells for 1 000 full cycles to 80% of new, where EcoFlow states 3 000 for the RIVER 2 and DELTA 2 units. Cycled twice a day through load reduction, 1 000 cycles is under a year and a half.

Best for: a buyer who values a local distributor they can phone over price per watt-hour. If you want the same support for a smaller need, the last unit costs about R7 000.

9. Jackery Explorer 500 - small, with local support

The Explorer 500 is the small Jackery, 518Wh at 6 kg with a 500W output and a two-year warranty. It is R6 998 at Takealot, R6 998.95 at Sustainable.co.za and R6 999 at jackery.co.za.

9Small, with local support

Jackery Explorer 500

Jackery Explorer 500 power station
✓ Checked 17 Sep 2026

Why it's on this list

The Jackery Explorer 500 is a light 518Wh unit backed by a South African distributor's repair route.

  • Battery518Wh
  • Output500W, 1 000W surge
  • Weight6 kg
  • Warranty2 years
  • Best fora router and lights, with a local desk to call
  • CellsLi-ion NMC, rated for 500 cycles to 80%
R6 999once-off at jackery.co.za
See it at jackery.co.za

you'll go to jackery.co.za

Interactive · type your watts Will it run your home? Type your appliances' watts for this unit's runtime, or see smaller, cheaper and bigger picks R13.51per Wh stored

1Your appliances' watts

Type the watts printed on each rating label. Leave a row empty to skip it.

2On this unit

At most Add your watts

Type the watts for what you want to keep on.

The hours are this unit's 518Wh label divided by your watts. Some energy is lost turning the battery into mains power and the maker does not publish how much, so real runtime is shorter.

Too big or too dear? Consider instead

  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 MaxR5 099at TakealotR1 899 less. About the same battery, 512Wh against 518Wh, and the same 500W output.

Too small? Step up to

  • EcoFlow RIVER 2 ProR9 899at EcoFlow South AfricaR2 901 more for 768Wh, one and a half times this battery, and 800W output. It switches over in under 30 ms.
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 ProR17 999at Sustainable.co.zaR11 001 more for 1 002Wh, twice this battery, and 1 000W output.

Battery, output and surge are each maker's published figures; prices are the lowest in-stock offer we read, 17 Sep 2026. Worked from specs, not from our own tests.

Where to buy itJackery Explorer 500, compared across South African stores

  • Takealot

    In stock

    Sold by JACKERY · Free delivery available · 24-month warranty

    R6 998 R13 996
    Buy it at Takealot

    The lowest price in stock

  • Sustainable.co.za

    In stock

    Shipping calculated at checkout

    R6 998.95 R8 749
  • jackery.co.za

    In stock

    Cape Town distributor with a local repair desk · Free delivery · 2-year warranty

    R6 999 R10 999
    Buy it at jackery.co.za

    Bought direct from the brand

Takealot and Sustainable.co.za prices include VAT; jackery.co.za does not say either way on its product page. Read on 17 Sep 2026. Stores change prices and stock often, so confirm at checkout.

Put it next to the RIVER 2 Max before you choose. The EcoFlow is about R1 900 cheaper at its lowest price, has a 3 000-cycle rating against the Jackery's 500, and carries a five-year warranty. The Jackery's case is the local distributor, not the specs.

Best for: someone buying a small unit who wants Jackery's local support desk. For most people choosing at this size, the RIVER 2 Max at number 2 is the better buy.

The ones I did not rank, and why

Bluetti's own South African store was locked behind a password when I checked, with a note that it will open soon. You can still buy Bluetti on Takealot from marketplace sellers, but read the listing: the EB70 there is sold with an EU plug or a two-pin socket, and the EB3A lists a six-month warranty. Until Bluetti sells here directly, I would not rank it.

ALLPOWERS runs a South African store in rands, and every model on it was sold out. The Gizzu Hero Max 1024Wh, at R8 999, was out of stock at Gizzu and at Sustainable.co.za.

Two EcoFlow step-ups are left off so one brand does not fill the list. The DELTA 2 Max is R21 499 for 2 048Wh with the highest surge of any 2kWh unit here, 4 800W, and the DELTA 3 Ultra Plus is R38 999 for 3 072Wh that expands to 7kWh.

The bottom line

Start with the power cuts you get. If the power goes on a schedule, buy for the switchover and the cycle life, and the DELTA 3 Plus or the RIVER 2 Pro will serve you for years. If it goes without warning, buy for storage, and the Gizzu Hero Pro and Hero Ultra Plus give you the most of it for the money.

Then buy from the right store. Check the listing for who sells it, the delivery date and the warranty, because the lowest price is often a slower offer or a marketplace seller. The panel under each power station above does that comparison for you.

In the municipal guidance I read, a power station that only charges from a wall socket counts as an appliance, so there is nothing to register. Wire one into your distribution board and that changes: it needs an electrician's certificate and your municipality's approval, and the exact rules are your municipality's.

Our pick

A home that wants the router, TV and fridge carried through an evening power cut without anything restarting.

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

R16999once-off, sold out at EcoFlow on 17 Sep 2026, in stock at Takealot

R16 999 at Takealot, in stock and sold by EcoFlow (checked 17 September 2026)

Compare stores Price checked 17 Sep 2026

Still between two? Answer the four questions below for your own home. They are the same four that decided this ranking: what must keep running, how your power goes off, whether anything may restart, and what you can spend.

Four questions

Which power station fits your power cuts?

Answer for your own home. The recommendation updates as you go.

1What must keep running when the power goes?

2How does your power go off?

3Must nothing restart when it switches over?

4What can you spend?

Before you answer

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus, for most homes

It switches over in under 10 ms, carries a five-year warranty and has enough surge for a fridge's start-up, at R16 999.

The trade-off: the DELTA 2 is R3 700 cheaper for the same battery if nothing needs to stay on through the switch.

Every spec is the maker's own and every price the store's own, read on 17 September 2026. Ranked on how each unit copes with the power cuts you get.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best portable power station in South Africa?

For most homes, the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus: 1 024Wh, 1 800W with a 3 600W surge, an under-10 ms switchover and a five-year warranty, at R16 999 at Takealot on 17 September 2026.

For the most battery per rand, the Gizzu Hero Pro 2048Wh or Hero Ultra Plus 3840Wh.

Will a portable power station run a fridge?

Only if its surge rating covers the fridge compressor starting, which is several times its running draw.

The EcoFlow DELTA 2 (2 700W surge), DELTA 3 Plus (3 600W) and Gizzu Hero Pro (4 800W peak) have that headroom. Check the label on your fridge before relying on a 500W unit.

Is EcoFlow cheaper on Takealot?

Sometimes. On 17 September 2026 the DELTA 2 was R13 299 at Takealot for delivery between 26 September and 1 October, R16 499 for same-day delivery, and R15 499 on EcoFlow's own site.

Check who is selling and the warranty on the listing.

Do I need to register a portable power station with the municipality?

No. A unit that charges from a wall socket is treated as an electrical appliance, not small-scale embedded generation.

It becomes registrable only if it is wired into your distribution board. Rules are set by each municipality.

Can I buy Bluetti in South Africa?

Not directly: Bluetti's South African store was password-gated on 17 September 2026.

Takealot marketplace sellers list Bluetti units, but some are sold with an EU plug or a two-pin socket, and one listing states a six-month warranty.

What does refurbished grade A mean at EcoFlow?

EcoFlow South Africa sells graded refurbished units.

The RIVER 2 Max grade A was R5 499 with a five-year warranty on 17 September 2026, against R5 999 new; grade B units carry a two-year warranty.